Anxiety · OCD

Light Bulb Moment!

As I stood up from the loo the other day I had a bit of an epiphany.

Sorry that be tmi but that’s when it happened so-

So I had a bit of an epiphany.

Not last Thursday but the one before I had a 45 minute assessment with Healthy Minds, trying to establish what help I need. They asked me lots of questions and at the end of it the woman on the phone told me that I needed a more intense form of CBT than she offered.

Talking to her got me thinking though. It got me thinking about how things work and I realised that in actual fact it is not my anxiety feeding my OCD but the other way around.

Suddenly years and years of shit that I’ve done started to make sense, started to come into almost crystal clear view. I can see clear reasoning for things.

And then-

And then I discovered something called Pure-O.

Primarily cognitive obsessive-compulsive disorder (also commonly called “primarily obsessional OCD“, purely obsessional OCD, PureO, OCD without overt compulsions or with covert compulsions) is a lesser-known form or manifestation of OCD.

What is Pure O?

Commonly referred to as ‘Pure O’ by the OCD community, ‘Pure O’ is a form of OCD where people mistakenly believe that it differs from traditional OCD, in that it features no outward compulsive manifestations; instead, the anxiety-inducing obsessions take place only in the mind.

However, a person with ‘Pure O’ will still have compulsions which mainly manifest as unseen mental rituals, and they will usually also engage in compulsive behaviours like seeking reassurance from loved ones, and avoidance of particular objects, places or people. They are compulsions, nonetheless, which is why the term ‘Pure O’ is somewhat imprecise.

Pure O is like any other form of OCD, it will involve both obsessions and compulsions which are the problems that need addressing through Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT).

This Understanding Pure-O guide may help you further understand this often misunderstood form of Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.

                            –  Taken From https://www.ocduk.org/pure-o
Never have I read anything that more sums up what happens to me on a daily basis. For years I’ve been searching for an explanation to the way my fucked up brain works and here it is. I feel like I’ve just gotten to the X on the X marks the spot. Like I’ve just uncovered the mystery at the heart of the adventure.
Knowing it, giving it a name isn’t going to stop the thoughts. It doesn’t help with them but it helps me.
It makes things a little easier.
Leave a Reply

